Things to know about getting married in New Jersey
Be at least 18 years of age.
Apply for the marriage license in the NJ municipality where either party resides, or where the marriage ceremony will be performed if neither party is a NJ resident.
The fee for a New Jersey marriage license is $28 and is required at the time of application in NJ Marriage License laws Requirements.
Marriage licenses are handled by the Registrar of Vital Statistics.
There is a 72-hour waiting period.
No blood test or residency requirements.
The New Jersey marriage license is valid for 6 Months.
Be sure to contact your local NJ County Clerk well in advance of the wedding to find out on what days and during what hours the Registrar will be in the office. Some locales will require an appointment. Laws can also vary from town to town. I highly recommend that you contact the office that you will be applying at first, to get the most current information.
NJ law requires that you bring 1 witness with you when obtaining license.
NJ law requires that you have 2 witnesses at ceremony.
I am not an attorney licensed to practice law and may not give legal advice about immigration or any other legal matter or accept fees for legal advice.
Things to know about getting married in Delaware
Be at least 18 years of age.
Couples don’t need to be Delaware residents to get married in the state. Individuals must also provide a government-issued ID that includes both their full name and date of birth, such as a: Valid driver’s license, DMV issued identification card, Passport, Certified copy of your birth certificate, or Military identification card.
The fee for a Delaware marriage license is is $70 for residents and $120 for non-residents. The fee can only be paid in person with cash. If you apply online, you can pay by credit card, but there is an additional $19.95 processing fee.
Couples can file online applications to receive their Delaware marriage license or apply in person at the Marriage Bureau Office during business hours on Monday through Friday.
Although many states no longer have waiting periods for marriage certificates, Delaware still enforces this requirement. If the couple consists of non-residents, the waiting period is 96 hours. If only one member of the couple is a Delaware resident, then the waiting period is 24 hours.
Regardless of whether or not you order the marriage license online or in person, both individuals in the couple must pick the license up from the county office together.
Marriage licenses in Delaware are only valid for 30 days. If a couple doesn’t get married within 30 days of the time of application, then their marriage license will expire. The good news is that couples can reapply for a new license. The Clerk of the Peace can also extend the marriage license to up to 180 days if the couple can demonstrate a valid cause.
Delaware requires that marriages must be performed in the presence of at least two witnesses. These witnesses must be 18 years of age and trustworthy. They will sign the marriage license.
Delaware does not allow any of the following types of marriage: proxy marriages, cousin marriages, or common-law marriages.
In 2013, Delaware passed the Delaware Civil Marriage Equality and Religious Freedom Act. This act legalized same-sex marriage, so the state no longer offers civil union licenses.